Jamaica Me Crazy

February 20, 2008 at 6:19 PM 1 comment

Recently I have been seeing a lot of commercials on TV about traveling to different countries. One of the ones in particular I have been seeing is Jamaica. I have been hearing about Jamaica from so many different media outlets and I am wondering if this has anything to do with PR.

The first advertisements I started seeing just said “Come to Jamaica.” Then I started hearing about the Sandals resort in Jamaica. It has been showcased on many reality TV shows, including one of my favorites (Girls Next Door), are going to a Jamaica Sandals resort. I feel like this cannot be a coincidence. During the show the three girls go to Jamaica for Holly’s sister’s wedding. During the two episode long visit the girls do all of these amazing things and see the best part of Jamaica, all along mentioning the Sandals resort and Jamaica. I realize this has to be a PR campaign. I’m guessing that they had their visit completely paid for and Sandals and Jamaica got their free publicity

Then I started thinking about if I had seen this a lot before. I realized that several years ago the Atlantis Resort on Paradise Island was doing almost the exact same thing. There was a Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen movie called Holiday in the Sun whee the entire movie was filmed on the resort. They had plug after plug after plug of their name. I’m guessing that the crew was taken very good care of during shooting. Soon after that movie came out, Atlantis was again a celebrity destination. On the reality TV show Newlyweds Nick Lachey and Jessica Simpson go to the Atlantis Resort for a trip.

All in all, this seems to be a really good PR idea, however, I would love to know how much this is practiced by resorts. What do you think about giving a celebrity a free trip in order to get people like you to want to go to a resort? Sleezy? Or just good PR…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Wedding Planning Who Dunnit? Edward Bernays

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mandee  |  February 26, 2008 at 10:44 AM

    What an interesting concept. And to think my mother actually booked a trip to Jamaica after seeing the commercials you mention. You’re right!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Lauren Alkire

I am Lauren Alkire and a PR student at the University of Oregon. I am not sure what I area of PR I am interested in but I am hoping to find out through this blog. I will be looking into all aspects of PR and the different types of PR and hopefully along the way learning a lot about and a lot about me. Follow me on my journey into the PR world!
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
Add to Technorati Favorites

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

